PlainStub tax forms, in plain words

Tipped occupations ยท Transportation and Delivery

Valet and Parking Attendant Tips and the 2026 Tips Deduction: Code 801

Parking and valet attendants appear on the Treasury list behind the 2026 tips deduction as occupation code 801, in the Transportation and Delivery category of the final regulations (T.D. 10044). The regulation describes the work as parking vehicles or issuing tickets for customers in a parking lot or garage, in environments such as a hotel or a restaurant, and its examples for the code are 'parking garage attendant' and 'valet parker': one code covers both the attendant who takes the keys at the curb and the attendant who hands out tickets at a self-park garage. A valet is an employee, of the venue or of the parking company that operates the stand, so reported tips reach Box 12 of the W-2 with code TP and code 801 in Box 14b, and up to $25,000 of qualified tips per return is deductible on Schedule 1-A for tax years 2025 through 2028.

Last reviewed: November 4, 2026.

The facts, in one table

Valet and parking attendants and the tips deduction, tax year 2026
Treasury Tipped Occupation Code801, Parking and Valet Attendants
Category in the final regulationsTransportation and Delivery
Related codes in the same category802, Taxi and Rideshare Drivers and Chauffeurs; 803, Shuttle Drivers; 804, Goods Delivery People; 809, Home Movers
Also inside code 801Parking garage attendants who issue tickets at self-park facilities. The regulations give 'parking garage attendant' and 'valet parker' as the examples for this one code (T.D. 10044, Table 1)
The deductionUp to $25,000 of qualified tips per return, for tax years 2025 through 2028, claimed on Schedule 1-A whether or not you itemize
PhaseoutThe amount after the $25,000 limit is reduced by $100 for each $1,000 of modified adjusted gross income over $150,000, or $300,000 on a joint return, counting whole $1,000 steps only (section 224(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code; 26 CFR 1.224-1(b)(2))
Where the figure appearsBox 12 of your W-2, code TP, with code 801 in Box 14b. Where a parking operator runs the garage or the valet stand under contract, the operator is the employer on that W-2
Payroll taxUnchanged. Tips are wages for Social Security and Medicare tax in full; the deduction reduces income tax only

Read the code the way the site reads the whole list: appearing on the Treasury list is a published fact about an occupation. It is not a decision about any one worker, and the rest of the rules on this page, the reporting rule in particular, decide what a deduction is built from. The full list of 71 codes is on the Treasury Tipped Occupation Codes page.

the parking fee is not a tip

How a valet's tips reach the tax record

The route is the employee route, with one wrinkle about who the employer is. Valet operations are frequently run by a parking company under contract to the hotel, restaurant, hospital, or venue, and the W-2, and with it code TP, comes from whoever employs the attendant, which is often the operator rather than the property whose name is on the door. An attendant who works stands run by two different operators in one year receives two W-2s, each with its own code TP.

The reporting duty is the standard one: cash tips of $20 or more in a calendar month are reported to the employer by the tenth day of the following month (IRS Topic No. 761). Most valet tips are still cash at the curb, but tips added in a parking app or on a card payment and distributed by the operator are part of the same reported total: the IRS definition of cash tips includes charged tips, and the regulations add amounts paid through a mobile payment application denominated in cash. What you report is what the employer can print in code TP, and code TP is the figure the 2026 deduction is generally limited to.

If your January W-2 shows no code TP, or a figure your own records do not support, the missing codes page sets out the common causes and the order of fixes. Only your employer can correct the form, on Form W-2c.

What counts as a qualified tip for a valet or parking attendant

A qualified tip is a voluntary payment, in an amount the customer decides, received in an occupation on the Treasury list. Sorted by the IRS definitions, the money at the curb sorts out like this:

app tips the driver sets are cash tips

The wage under the tips

The deduction sits on top of the wage, and the wage for tipped work is set by the Fair Labor Standards Act and by your state. Valet and garage work is employee work, for the venue or for a parking operator, so the table applies directly, and the spread between states is wide: at the federal floor the cash wage can be $2.13 an hour with tips expected to carry the pay to $7.25, while the states in the first group of the table require the full state minimum wage in cash before tips.

The federal floor for tipped employees, Fair Labor Standards Act
Minimum wage the combined pay must reach$7.25 an hour
Lowest cash wage an employer may pay a tipped employee$2.13 an hour
Maximum tip credit$5.12 an hour
Tipped employee, federal definitionA worker in an occupation that customarily and regularly receives more than $30 a month in tips

The tip credit is a credit toward the minimum wage, not a discount on it: the employer may count up to $5.12 an hour of a tipped employee's tips toward the $7.25, and if cash wages plus tips do not reach the full minimum wage, the employer owes the difference. States set their own floors on top of the federal one, and the full state table, exactly as the U.S. Department of Labor publishes it, follows. Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, "Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees", last revised July 1, 2026, retrieved November 4, 2026.

States that require the full state minimum wage before tips

JurisdictionBasic combined cash and tip minimum wageMaximum tip creditMinimum cash wageTipped employee: tips received per month
Alaska$14.00
California$16.90
Guam$9.25
Minnesota$11.41
Montana: business with gross annual sales over $110,000$10.85
Montana: business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less$4.00
Nevada$12.00
Oregon$15.55 (standard statewide); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties)
Washington$17.13

States that require a minimum cash wage above the federal $2.13 an hour

JurisdictionBasic combined cash and tip minimum wageMaximum tip creditMinimum cash wageTipped employee: tips received per month
Arizona$15.15$3.00$12.15Not specified
Arkansas$11.00$8.37$2.63Not specified
Colorado$15.16$3.02$12.14More than $30
Connecticut: hotel and restaurant workers$16.94$10.56$6.38Not specified
Connecticut: bartenders who customarily receive tips$16.94$8.71$8.23
Delaware$15.00$12.77$2.23More than $30
District of Columbia$18.40$8.10$10.30Not specified
Florida$14.00$3.02$10.98More than $30
Hawaii$16.00$1.25$14.75
Idaho$7.25$3.90$3.35More than $30
Illinois$15.0040 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($6.00)$9.00Not specified
Iowa$7.2540 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($2.90)$4.35More than $30
Maine$15.1050 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($7.55)$7.55More than $191
Maryland$15.00$11.37$3.63More than $30
Massachusetts$15.00$8.25$6.75More than $20
Michigan$13.73$8.24$5.49Not specified
Missouri$15.0050 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($7.50)$7.50Not specified
New Hampshire$7.25$3.98$3.27More than $30
New Jersey$15.92$9.87$6.05More than $30
New Mexico$12.00$9.00$3.00More than $30
New York$17.00 (New York City, Long Island and Westchester); $16.00 (remainder of the state)Varies by region and type of employerVaries by region and type of employerNot specified
North Dakota$7.2533 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($2.39)$4.86More than $30
Ohio: employers with annual gross receipts of $405,000 or more$11.00$5.50$5.50More than $30
Oklahoma$7.25$5.12$2.13Not specified
Pennsylvania$7.25$4.42$2.83$135
Rhode Island$16.00$12.11$3.89More than $30
South Dakota$11.8550 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($5.92)$5.93More than $35
Vermont$14.4250 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($7.21)$7.21More than $120
Virgin Islands$10.50$6.3040 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($4.20)Not specified
Wisconsin$7.25$4.92$2.33Not specified
West Virginia$8.7570 percent of the applicable minimum wage ($6.13)$2.62Not specified

States where the minimum cash wage is the federal $2.13 an hour

JurisdictionBasic combined cash and tip minimum wageMaximum tip creditMinimum cash wageTipped employee: tips received per month
Alabama$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
American SamoaSpecial minimum wage rates apply$2.13More than $30
Georgia$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Indiana$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Kansas$7.25$5.12$2.13Not specified
Kentucky$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Louisiana$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Mississippi$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Nebraska$15.00$12.87$2.13Not specified
North Carolina$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $20
Northern Mariana Islands$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Puerto Rico$10.50$8.37$2.13More than $30
South Carolina$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Tennessee$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Texas$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $20
Utah$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30
Virginia$12.77$10.64$2.13More than $30
Wyoming$7.25$5.12$2.13More than $30

Estimate the deduction on your own figures

The tips deduction calculator takes your reported tip total and your income, applies the $25,000 limit and the phaseout, and returns an estimated deduction. It asks for nothing but the figures, and the calculation runs in your browser.

If you worked for more than one operator in the year, the estimate's starting figure is the sum of the code TP amounts across your W-2s: the deduction is figured per return, not per employer.

Other tipped occupations on this site

Questions and answers

I work the valet stand for a parking company at two hotels. Which W-2 carries my tips?

Each employer's W-2 carries the wages and reported tips from that employer's payroll, each with its own Box 12 code TP and code 801 in Box 14b. An attendant employed by one operator at two properties usually has one W-2 from that operator; an attendant employed by two different operators has two. The tips deduction is figured on the return from the reported totals, within the single $25,000 per return limit.

Drivers tip through the garage app more than in cash now. Does an app tip count the same way?

Yes, on the definition. Cash tips in the final regulations include amounts paid by cash, check, credit or debit card, gift card, and any other form of electronic settlement or mobile payment application denominated in cash (26 CFR 1.224-2). An app tip the driver sets is a charged tip in the same sense as a card tip, and it belongs in the total reported to the employer.

The restaurant charges every guest a valet fee, and drivers still hand me cash. Which of the two is the tip?

The cash. The fee is the establishment's charge for the service, an amount every guest must pay, and the regulation's description of this occupation treats collecting the fee as part of the attendant's duties rather than as a payment to the attendant. The money a driver hands you voluntarily, in an amount the driver decides, is the tip.

Sources

Last reviewed: November 4, 2026.